Home Page of Matthias Bickelhaupt


In my group, we develop chemical theories and methods for rationally designing molecules, nano-structures and materials as well as chemical processes toward these compounds, based on quantum mechanics and computer simulations. An essential part of these efforts is theory-driven experimentation, the application of our theories and models in cooperation with experimental groups. 

My scientific activities comprize four main directions of research that are intimately connected and reinforce each other: 1) Structure and Chemical Bonding in Kohn-Sham Density Functional Theory (DFT), 2) Molecular Recognition and Theoretical Biochemistry, 3) Elementary Chemical Reactions [see: Activation Strain modelPyfrag], and 4) Fragment-oriented Design of Catalysts. For a publication analysis, go to my ResearcherID and click on Citation Metrics. For selected publications, click here, or visit the cover gallery.

News and Information   [see also News Archive]

> Today, Marco Bortoli has successfully defended his thesis “The Role of Selenium in Glutathione Peroxidase: Insights from Molecular Modeling”. After the defense, there were drinks at The Basket. [17 April 2019]

PhD CeremonyIMG 4371 1

> On 26 March 2019, the first annual symposium of the Computational and Theoretical Chemistry (CTC) Division of the Koninklijke Nederlandse Chemische Vereniging took place in the Auditorium of the O|2 Building at Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam. With around 120 participants, top speakers, and 50+ excellent posters, it has been a great day!! [March 2019]

> The Theoretical Chemistry group has been rated excellent and awarded the maximum score by an international Chemistry Review Committee, which has assessed chemistry research at universities across the Netherlands. The Committee describes the Theoretical Chemistry group at Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam as: "A top leading research group both nationally and worldwide, with an outstanding reputation for its innovative and exceptionally high quality research". [2011]

© Bickelhaupt 1997-1999, 1999-2003, 2003-2014, 2014-2019